meeting aliens

So, yesterday I met 2 different sets of ladies from our community.

Let me just say, for me, that in itself was huge. I would have usually taken off and not stuck around for the main event, but this time I did.

The first set of ladies were ‘my peoples’ … I understood how and what they spoke.

The second set were ‘not my peoples’ …  I didn’t really understand them … their speech … their affluent air and rolling hand gestures … their smiles and giggles.

What was even more interesting, was watching the interaction between these two sets of ladies. The ‘my peoples’ ones, once introduced to the ‘not my peoples’ ones, all of a sudden became … morphed into something completely different.

Their language changed … they started to ‘giggle’ … their conversation changed from chatty, to flouncy. They separated themselves from ‘me’ and moved the 2nd set of ladies over to the other room to continue their conversation.

And as I watched the interaction unfold … I wondered what the fuck was happening?

I had thought the 2nd were not really ‘real’ … because to me, they were out of my comfort zone. However, as this conversation carried on, they didn’t change their manner, their speech, their demeanour. They remained themselves. While the ‘my peoples’, changed completely.

I was astounded.

When the interaction was over and everyone waved and laughed their fair wells, one of the ‘my peoples’ ladies came over and said something interesting-er.

She looks at me and says .. ‘I had to change my face for a moment there. They’re some of the communities wealthiest and are potential clients. Got to keep them happy’.

Really????

Is that what all that was about? Is this really how it works??

I felt nauseous.

I think I misjudged who the alien species actually were.

I’m still slightly confused.

 

2 thoughts on “meeting aliens

Leave a Reply

